Crypto perpetual futures on Backpack: markets, availability and risks

Risk warning. Not financial advice. Crypto is highly volatile and may drop in value significantly. You may lose the amounts you invest and your investments do not benefit from any form of financial protection.

Backpack listed 103 perpetual futures markets on 6 October 2026. In the EU they are provided by Trek Labs Europe Ltd under CySEC licence no. 273/15. They are not available in the UAE, because the VARA licence covers spot trading only. They are leveraged products, so you can lose your margin quickly.

EU retail clients: limits and loss warning

European Union: retail clients

[VERIFY]% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading these products with this provider. The percentage is specific to the firm and is not in the sources read, so no figure is printed here.

For retail clients in the EU these products are derivatives under MiFID II. They are provided by Trek Labs Europe Ltd, which is licensed by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) as a Cyprus Investment Firm, licence no. 273/15. Regulatory leverage limits and margin close-out rules apply. See the licence details for Trek Labs Europe Ltd.

Markets you can trade

sitemap count, 6 Oct 2026

Backpack's trade sitemap listed 190 market pages on 6 October 2026: 103 perpetual futures markets and 87 spot markets. A perpetual market carries PERP in its name, as in NVDA-PERP.

The count is a snapshot of one day and can change. It was not split by underlying asset, so this page gives no separate figure for crypto and equity markets.

Markets in the trade sitemap, 6 Oct 2026
TypeMarkets
Perpetual futures103
Spot87

The live markets page also lists equity perpetuals, including NVDA-PERP, TSLA-PERP, AAPL-PERP, SPY-PERP and QQQ-PERP. An equity perpetual is a derivative that tracks the price of a share or a fund. It is not a share: you own a contract, with no shareholder rights and nothing to transfer to another broker.

If you want to own the share itself, compare buying US stocks instead of an equity perpetual.

  • NVDA-PERP
  • TSLA-PERP
  • AAPL-PERP
  • SPY-PERP
  • QQQ-PERP

Equity perpetuals on the live markets page, 6 October 2026. Derivatives, not shares.

Where perpetual futures are available

The company behind a perpetual futures account depends on where you live. One provider is named for the EU. The product is not offered in the UAE, and for other regions the sources read name no provider.

Region rail: the company that provides Backpack perpetual futures in each region European Union: Trek Labs Europe Ltd under CySEC licence 273/15, offered. UAE: not offered, because the VARA licence is spot only. United Kingdom: not for retail clients under FCA rules in force since 6 January 2021. United States and other regions: the provider is not stated in the sources read. Perpetual futures on Backpack EU: Trek Labs Europe Ltd CySEC 273/15, offered CySEC, Cyprus UAE: not offered VARA licence is spot only VARA, Dubai UK: not for retail clients FCA rules, 6 Jan 2021 FCA, United Kingdom US: provider not stated not in the sources read owner to confirm Other regions: not stated not in the sources read owner to confirm
Region rail. The filled square marks the one region where a named company offers perpetual futures. A hollow square marks a region where they are not offered or where the sources name no provider.
Where Backpack perpetual futures are offered, by region
RegionProviderRegulator and numberStatus
European UnionTrek Labs Europe Ltd, trade name Backpack EUCySEC, Cyprus Investment Firm under MiFID II, licence no. 273/15 (CySEC register entry)Offered on eu.backpack.exchange
Dubai and the UAENone. Trek Labs Ltd FZE provides spot trading onlyVARA, licence no. VL/23/07/001, spot only (VARA public register)Not available
United KingdomNone namedNo FCA authorisation is stated on Backpack's sites. FCA rules have prohibited the sale of crypto derivatives to retail clients since 6 January 2021Not for retail clients
United StatesNot stated in the sources readNot stated
Other regionsNot stated in the sources readNot stated

This table covers perpetual futures only. The sources read for it are Backpack's own sites, on 6 October 2026, and the CySEC and VARA registers, on 11 October 2026.

Last reviewed

European Union EU

Perpetual futures for EU clients are provided by Trek Labs Europe Ltd. The company is licensed by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) as a Cyprus Investment Firm under MiFID II, licence no. 273/15, dated 23 April 2015. Its previous name was FTX EU Ltd.

The CySEC register entry lists Backpack EU as the approved trade name and eu.backpack.exchange as the approved domain. Backpack's own article calls this licence the legal basis for its EU perpetual futures. ESMA has published guidelines on when crypto-assets qualify as financial instruments (reference ESMA75453128700-1323).

Dubai and the UAE UAE

Perpetual futures are not available in the UAE. Trek Labs Ltd FZE is licensed by Dubai's Virtual Assets Regulatory Authority (VARA) for Exchange Services, licence no. VL/23/07/001, and that licence covers spot trading only.

Backpack's VARA disclosure says the licence "does not cover Futures or Margin Trading". It applies only to UAE residents onboarded by Trek Labs Ltd FZE and does not extend to any other company that uses the Backpack Exchange brand.

United Kingdom

This page is not written for UK retail clients. Under FCA Policy Statement PS20/10, the sale of investment products that reference cryptoassets to retail clients is prohibited. The rules came into force on 6 January 2021.

Backpack's sites state no FCA authorisation. How UK visitors are kept away from perpetual futures is not stated in the sources read.

United States

Whether Backpack offers perpetual futures to US residents is not stated in the sources read. The US company named on Backpack's sites is Trek Labs, Inc. Its money services registration is set out on the licences page, and nothing in the sources connects that registration to perpetual futures.

Other regions

For countries outside the EU, the UAE, the UK and the US, the sources read name no company that provides perpetual futures and no licence that covers them. The live home page describes the product without naming a provider. Confirm which company you would contract with before you fund an account.

Availability can change. What your account can use depends on the company that onboards you. These notes cover perpetual futures only.

Spot crypto and the stock brokerage come from other companies. Each one is listed with its number and register link on the licences page for every Backpack company.

Margin and collateral on Backpack

The live site describes spot and perpetual futures on one margin system, with stocks in the same account usable as collateral and with isolated subaccounts.

Margin system
one, for spot and perpetual futures
Stocks as collateral
usable, same account
Subaccounts
isolated
Funding interval
not stated
Margin tiers
not stated
Collateral haircuts
not stated
Liquidation rules
not stated

The four items marked not stated are not in the sources read, so no number is given here. Leverage limits depend on your region and are shown after the region check.

Backpack says margin positions and unrealised PnL are within the scope of its daily proof of reserves.

What trading costs

source: support article, read 6 Oct 2026

Perpetual futures maker and taker fees by tier
TierRequirementMakerTaker
Tier 1Entry tier0.02%0.05%
Tier 2350 BP staked, or $100,000 spot or $500,000 futures 30-day volume0.019%0.045%
Tiers 3 to 5Not in the sources read
Tier 630,000 BP, or $10,000,000 spot or $25,000,000 futures volume0.01%0.028%
VIP 150,000 BP, or $250,000 assets held, or $15,000,000 spot or $50,000,000 futures volume0.01%0.026%
VIP 2 to VIP 4Not in the sources read
VIP 5500,000 BP, or $5,000,000 assets held, or $100,000,000 spot or $300,000,000 futures volume0%0.018%

Maker and taker fees are charged on each trade, as a share of its value. The values come from Backpack's support article on trading fees, which is marked as subject to change and, when it was read, said it had last been updated six months earlier. Confirm them on the live fee page before you trade.

Funding payments are a separate cost. They are exchanged between traders who hold positions and are not a trading fee.

Last reviewed

Spot fees, the USDT/USDC pair and USD wires are on the Backpack Exchange fee schedule.

Risks of leveraged trading

Perpetual futures are leveraged derivatives. A small price move against you has a large effect on your margin, and losses can arrive faster than on a spot holding. Trade only with money you can afford to lose, and read the risk disclosure for leveraged products first.

Liquidation and loss of margin

You post margin to open a position. If the market moves against you and your margin falls below the required level, the position can be closed without your consent and the margin lost. In a fast market this can happen within minutes.

Funding costs

Traders who hold a perpetual position exchange funding payments with the other side. When you are on the paying side, funding is a running cost that reduces your margin for as long as the position stays open. The amount changes over time.

Volatility and price gaps

Crypto prices can move sharply at any hour. The shares that equity perpetuals track have their own market hours, so a perpetual's price can jump when news arrives outside them. An order can fill at a worse price than you expected.

Before you place a first trade, read the trading and risk guides in Backpack Learn.

New to perpetual futures? Read the guide first

A perpetual future is a derivative with no expiry date. The guide explains how funding, margin and liquidation work, and how perpetual futures compare with spot and dated futures. For information only. Not investment advice.

Perpetual futures FAQ

Which company provides perpetual futures in the EU?

Trek Labs Europe Ltd provides them. The company is licensed by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) as a Cyprus Investment Firm, licence no. 273/15, dated 23 April 2015, and its approved trade name is Backpack EU. The CySEC register lists eu.backpack.exchange as its approved domain.

Are perpetual futures available in Dubai?

No. Perpetual futures are not available in Dubai or elsewhere in the UAE. Trek Labs Ltd FZE holds VARA licence no. VL/23/07/001 for Exchange Services, and that licence covers spot trading only. Backpack's VARA disclosure says it does not cover futures or margin trading, so UAE residents onboarded by that company can trade spot markets but not perpetual futures.

Does Backpack offer perpetual futures in the United States?

This is not stated in the sources read. They do not say whether Trek Labs, Inc., the US company named on Backpack's sites, offers perpetual futures. Until Backpack confirms it, the availability table on this page shows the United States as not stated, and you should not assume the product is offered there.

How many perpetual futures markets does Backpack list?

Backpack listed 103 perpetual futures markets on 6 October 2026. The figure is a count of market pages in the exchange's trade sitemap, which listed 87 spot markets on the same day. The list includes equity perpetuals such as NVDA-PERP and SPY-PERP. The number changes when markets are added or removed, so treat it as a dated snapshot.

Is an equity perpetual the same as owning the share?

No. An equity perpetual such as NVDA-PERP or TSLA-PERP is a derivative that tracks the price of a share. You do not own the share and you have no shareholder rights. Backpack's stock product is separate: the live stocks page describes real US shares with shareholder rights, cash dividends and transfer to other brokerages.

Can I use other assets as collateral?

Yes, according to the live site. It describes spot and perpetual futures on one margin system and says stocks held in the same account are usable as collateral. Which assets count, and at what discount, is not stated in the sources read, so check the collateral list in your account before you rely on it.

Account, deposit and support topics are answered separately: questions about accounts, deposits and support.

Regulatory disclosure

European Union. Perpetual futures are provided by Trek Labs Europe Ltd, company no. 335683, 47 Stavrou Avenue, Floor 2, 2035 Nicosia, Cyprus. It is licensed by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) as a Cyprus Investment Firm, licence no. 273/15, and serves clients on eu.backpack.exchange. That licence does not cover the stock brokerage, and spot crypto services in the EU come from a different company.

Dubai and the UAE. Perpetual futures are not offered. The VARA licence of Trek Labs Ltd FZE, licence no. VL/23/07/001, covers spot trading only and does not cover futures or margin trading.

United Kingdom, United States and other regions. The sources read name no provider and no licence for perpetual futures. This page does not say the product is available there.

This page is for information only. It is not investment advice and not an invitation to trade. Addresses, history and leadership roles are on the About page: the companies behind Backpack.

Last reviewed

For information only. Not investment advice.

Find out who provides perpetual futures where you live

The availability table names the company, the regulator and the licence number for each region, and says plainly where the product is not offered.