Backpack Exchange fees: spot and perpetual futures tiers, and USD wires

Risk warning. Not financial advice. Crypto is highly volatile and may drop in value significantly. You may lose the amounts you invest and your investments do not benefit from any form of financial protection.

At Tier 1, Backpack Exchange fees are 0.08% maker and 0.10% taker on spot and 0.02% maker and 0.05% taker on perpetual futures. The USDT/USDC pair has a 0% fee, and USD wires carry no fee in either direction. Tiers are recalculated hourly from 30-day volume, and a BP stake or assets held can also place you in a higher tier.

Spot trading fees by tier

Last reviewed

Spot fees by tier, as % of trade value
TierMakerTakerBP stakedAssets held30-day spot volume
Tier 10.08%0.10%Entry tier: no threshold listed
Tier 20.07%0.09%350 BPnot listed$100,000
Tiers 3 to 5Not captured in the source
Tier 60.03%0.05%30,000 BPnot listed$10,000,000
VIP 10.02%0.045%50,000 BP$250,000$15,000,000
VIP 2 to 4Not captured in the source
VIP 50%0.025%500,000 BP$5,000,000$100,000,000

Reaching the threshold in any one column is enough for that tier. A maker order rests on the order book and adds liquidity. A taker order fills against an order that is already there. Both terms are in the glossary: maker and taker fees defined.

Source: Backpack's support article on trading fees, read 6 October 2026. The article is marked "SUBJECT TO CHANGE" and "Last updated 6 months ago", so treat every value as provisional until Backpack confirms it.

Perpetual futures fees by tier

Last reviewed

Futures fees by tier, as % of trade value
TierMakerTakerBP stakedAssets held30-day futures volume
Tier 10.02%0.05%Entry tier: no threshold listed
Tier 20.019%0.045%350 BPnot listed$500,000
Tiers 3 to 5Not captured in the source
Tier 60.01%0.028%30,000 BPnot listed$25,000,000
VIP 10.01%0.026%50,000 BP$250,000$50,000,000
VIP 2 to 4Not captured in the source
VIP 50%0.018%500,000 BP$5,000,000$300,000,000

Funding is not in this table. Funding payments pass between traders who hold long and short positions and are not a platform fee: how funding payments differ from fees.

Perpetual futures are not available in the UAE. Markets, collateral and regional limits are on the product page: perpetual futures markets and margin rules.

Source and status are the same as for the spot table: the support article on trading fees, read 6 October 2026.

How your fee tier is set

recalculated hourly

Fee tiers follow your 30-day trading volume and are recalculated every hour, according to the fees page on backpack.exchange. Your effective tier is the highest one reached through any of the three routes that page names.

Trading volume
30-day volume. Tier 2 starts at $100,000 on spot or $500,000 on perpetual futures.
BP stake
The amount of BP, the Backpack token, that you have staked: 350 BP for Tier 2, 500,000 BP for VIP 5.
Pre-TGE Mad Lad NFT holding
Mad Lads is an NFT collection on Solana, and TGE is the BP token generation event. The tier this route gives is not stated.

The support article also lists an assets-held threshold for the VIP tiers it shows: $250,000 for VIP 1 and $5,000,000 for VIP 5. The USDT/USDC pair has a 0% fee.

Each tier has a spot volume threshold and a futures volume threshold. The source does not say whether volume in one market counts toward your tier in the other.

Buying or staking BP only to reach a lower tier exposes you to the price of BP, which can fall.

USD wires and other funding costs

USD wire, in or outNo feelive home page, read

The home page of backpack.exchange says USD can be wired in and out of an account with no fee in either direction. Your own bank, or an intermediary bank, may still charge for sending or receiving a wire. Those charges are outside this schedule.

Crypto network withdrawal fees, EUR and other fiat rails, minimums and processing times are not stated in the sources read, so this page gives no figure for them.

Stock trading and lending costs

outside the tier tables

US stocks and ETFs

The banner on the live home page reads "Trade stocks 24/7/365 with 0% fees." This page takes that to mean 0% commission on stock and ETF orders.

The sources list no other stock costs, such as spreads, currency conversion or regulatory charges, so none is shown here.

Stock trading hours and costs

Lending and borrowing

The sources give no trading fee for lending or borrowing. What a lender receives and a borrower pays is a variable rate, set per market. It is not a fee from this schedule and it is not guaranteed.

Rates are printed only in the dated rate block on the lending page.

Lending and borrowing rates

Which company provides each product depends on where you live. Check the company and licence for your region before you rely on a figure from this page.

Worked examples

illustrations at Tier 1

What a $10,000 order costs at Tier 1
OrderYour sideRateFee
$10,000 spot orderTaker0.10%$10.00
$10,000 spot orderMaker0.08%$8.00
$10,000 perpetual futures orderTaker0.05%$5.00

The fee is the order value multiplied by the rate: $10,000 at 0.10% is $10, at 0.08% is $8 and at 0.05% is $5. Buying and later selling are two orders, and each one is charged.

These are illustrations, not quotes. They leave out funding payments, spreads and network fees. The futures line assumes the fee applies to the full order value, not to the margin posted.

Methodology and review dates

This page is a concept version of the Backpack Exchange fee schedule. Every number on it was copied from a Backpack-owned page. None was measured or estimated.

Source of record
Backpack support: trading fees
Also read
fees page and home page of backpack.exchange
Date read
Source status
marked "SUBJECT TO CHANGE" and "Last updated 6 months ago"
Left out
network fees, spreads, funding payments
Data check
every 30 days
Editorial review
every 90 days
Reviewer
Head of Compliance

The live fees page builds its table in the browser, so the tier values could not be read from its HTML and come from the support article instead. That article was already about six months old when it was read. The page is re-dated only when a value changes.

For the business behind these charges, the About page explains how Backpack earns revenue.

Fee FAQ

values read 6 Oct 2026

What are the trading fees on Backpack Exchange?

0.08% maker and 0.10% taker on spot, and 0.02% maker and 0.05% taker on perpetual futures, at Tier 1. Rates fall as the tier rises. At VIP 5, the last tier captured from the source, spot costs 0% maker and 0.025% taker and perpetual futures cost 0% maker and 0.018% taker. All values were read on 6 October 2026.

How do I get a lower fee tier?

350 BP staked, or $100,000 of 30-day spot volume, or $500,000 of 30-day perpetual futures volume moves you from Tier 1 to Tier 2. Your effective tier is the highest one reached through your BP stake, your trading volume or a pre-TGE Mad Lad NFT holding. The VIP tiers captured also list an assets-held threshold, from $250,000 for VIP 1.

Are perpetual futures fees different from spot fees?

Yes: 0.02% maker and 0.05% taker on perpetual futures at Tier 1, against 0.08% and 0.10% on spot. Perpetual futures tiers also have their own 30-day volume thresholds, starting at $500,000 for Tier 2. Funding is separate again. Traders who hold long and short positions pay it to each other, and it is not a platform fee.

Is there a fee to wire USD?

No. The live home page of backpack.exchange says: "Wire USD in and out of your account. No fee, either direction." The statement was read on 6 October 2026. Your own bank, or an intermediary bank, may still charge for sending or receiving the wire, and those charges are outside this fee schedule.

How often do fee tiers update?

Every hour. The fees page on backpack.exchange says tiers are based on 30-day volume and recalculated hourly, so your tier can change within a day. This page is not a live feed. Its values were read on 6 October 2026, are checked every 30 days and are re-dated only when one of them changes.

Which trading pair has a 0% fee?

USDT/USDC. The fees page on backpack.exchange says the USDT/USDC pair has a 0% fee, so trading one of these two stablecoins for the other on that pair carries no trading fee. The sources name no other 0% pair. Separately, the maker rate at VIP 5 is 0% on both spot and perpetual futures.

New to order books or funding? Start with the trading guides on Backpack Learn.

Change log

Concept version of this page. Fee values as read on 6 October 2026 from a support article marked "Last updated 6 months ago".

Later fee changes are added here with the date, the old value and the new value.

Find the tier your volume, stake or holdings reach

Compare your 30-day volume, BP stake and assets held with the thresholds, then check how the effective tier is chosen.